Allan recently spoke with MusicRow about Ruthless, making sad songs, and the last 25 years.

Country music renaissance man Gary Allan released his long-awaited new album Ruthless today (June 25).

The 13-track project finds Allan tapping into the eclectic and tender-hearted themes ever-present in his prior releases, and settling into his ‘80s and ‘90s influences. He co-produced Ruthless with some of the minds behind his acclaimed breakout album Smoke Rings In The DarkMark Wright, and Tony Brown, in addition to Jay Joyce and Greg Droman.

The tracklist, a sequence he has been collecting for eight years, reads like a who’s who of Music Row, with writers Jim BeaversSarah BuxtonRodney ClawsonNicolle GalyonRyan HurdMatt WarrenJosh KearHillary LindseyShane McAnally, the late busbee, and more.

Check out the full interview at